Unlike David Cook and David Archuleta, this showdown wasn't as good as a Gokey-Lambert showdown could have been. At least we have a rocker in the final 2 again, but Adam showed his softer side this evening to pander to the judges and probably to the voters. Which just made him look mediocre on the finale stage. Simon Cowell clearly learned from last year when he declared Arculeta a clear winner despite the clear evidence to the contrary...so he thinks Adam should win and rightfully so on the entire season's effort, but Kris held his own and always seems to get by these people with more talent than him (Allison, Gokey, and arguably even Matt Giraud had more talent than Kris). So if people are voting on tonight's performances, Kris will surely win. I'm guessing this will be much much closer than the past two season finales, and maybe the cloest Idol voting ever. If it is, Seacrest will let us know to further crush the feelings of whomever loses. Oh and Simon was spot-on about Kara's writing "talent," it's all a bunch of boundaries and hurricanes and shit. Blech.
Let's face it...the true winner this season was Normund Gentle. But anyways, here's my rapid fire grade of all the performances tonight.
PERSONAL CHOICE
Adam - "Mad World" - Everyone who DVR's Idol missed this entire performance and Simon giving him a standing O last time. This time was not as good. GRADE: B
Kris - "Ain't No Sunshine" - No no no. Kris, just play the damn guitar. Judges loved this performance and I thought he picked one of his weakest songs. Poor job. GRADE: C-
PRODUCER CHOICE
Adam - "A Change Is Gonna Come" - Best performance of the night, which is disappointing because this would've clocked in behind even Archuleta's best finale song last year. GRADE: A-
Kris - "What's Going On" - Kris unleashes his inner Jason Castro or his Chi Alpha (yes he's a holy roller and my college pastor emaild me personally to ask me to vote for him...eff that) breakdown performance and it's just meh. Good job for him, but meh. GRADE: B
WINNER'S SONG - "No Boundaries"
Adam - The song doesn't fit Adam and he's really stretching to make his voice work into the song. Plus it's cheesy as hell. Seems like a better song for Kris, sadly. GRADE: C-
Kris - Nope, doesn't fit his voice either. Sigh. Kris is pitchy as all hell trying to find the notes an octave too high in the chorus. GRADE: D-
So by my count, it's a knockout for Adam. But to be fair, I'm judging on talent, which has nothing to do with how tweentards vote. Adam probably scares them, which is a shame. But considering the absolute dogshit on David Cook's first album thanks to Idol producers, maybe Kris Allen is more deserving of the "honor" of that recording contract. Despite my better judgment, I'm calling for the "upset" of the show right here.
WINNER OF AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 8 - Kris Allen
The real winner in life - Adam Lambert
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment